The Book of Threes

Three Marks of Existence

Three marks of existence (Pali, ti-lakkhana; Sanskrit, tri-laksana) in Buddhism is the collective term for anicca, “impermanence,” dukkha, “suffering,” and anatta, “no-self.” Although each comprise a topic of meditation in its own right conceptually they are interrelated: there is “no-self” because there is “impermanence,” and because there is “impermanence” there is “suffering.” The reflection upon dukkha serves to dispel the illusions about the world and of life. A.G.H.


Bowker, John, The Oxford Dictionary of World Religions, New York, Oxford University Press, 1997, p. 973

Author: admin

Three is the Magic Number

Leave a Reply