The Book of Threes

Stoning of the Devil

Traditionally the three jamarat (singular: jamrah) were tall pillars. However, after the 2004 Hajj, Saudi authorities replaced the pillars with 26-meter-(85 ft) long walls [3] to ease performance of the ritual and make it less dangerous to pilgrims. The jamarat are named (starting from the east) the first or smallest jamrah (Arabic: al-jamrah al-ula or al-jamrah as-sughra), the middle jamrah (al-jamrah al-wusta), and the largest jamrah or jamrah of Aqaba (al-jamrah al-kubra or jamrat al-`Aqabah).

Author: admin

Three is the Magic Number

Leave a Reply